Lookin’ For Love

 

Yesterday was my birthday

but I spent it the worst way

stuck between a rock & a hard place

I was thinking I wasn’t good enough

vernacular ain’t hood enough

spent my time and money

but wasn’t good enough

the girl used me

psychologically abused me

she left me for somebody else

she said: she only mess with top notch men

who roll in Cadillacs and Benz

on 22″ rims

but we can be friends

when I saw her get in

my heart sunk right in

I know what he told her

when that Cadillac rolled up

he made you feel special

in ten minutes he met you

said we can go far

if you get in my car

sold her a dream and promised the world

equipped with diamonds and pearls

now she’s up in his bed

giving love, giving head

then he dropped her off

and he never called

she’s looking stupid messed-up

dream deferred

because the lie was dressed-up

she was looking for love

she almost tasted it

different men, different cars

different faces

she chased it

now she gotta face it

what she had a first was good

but she wasted it

Her friends told her

there’s more fish in the sea

she can find better than me

and live lavishly

she need a baller

so she can live for free

and have everything

that she couldn’t from me

I tried to call her

she wouldn’t listen to me

didn’t want nothing from me

he can do it better than me

now she’s scratching and itching

she don’t realize what’s happening

that dude gave her the business

I’m not smiling or lausghing

I’m talking about STD’s

I’m talking about HPV

and those DVD’s

when she came back to me

I told her I’m sorry

I don’t mess with those floozies

hoodrats skizanks and loosies

kept looking like Lucy and Vicky

she wanted to be like Nikki

you reaped it now sow it up

wanted to drink it

now pour it up

this is life that you’re messing with

and I had enough

we  suffered pain for it

I stayed true to the game for it

they got a name for it

I was looking for love

I almost tasted it

let you in to discover my secret places

you erased it

now I must replace it

realities of life

we gotta face it

she said: Don’t buy the cow

get the milk for free

in a couple of years

you’ll be just like me

no family or friends

my reality

baby mommas the drama

you don’t know who’s the daddy

one night stands

if only I can do it again

don’t look for birds in the bushes

if there’s one in your hands

I thought the grass was greener

but it’s not

don’t give them all that you got

they will use you

your priceless precious goods

they will abuse you

without commitment

your mind is you benefit

people come and they go

but do they benefit?

I don’t think so

stop looking for love

but I’m open-minded

I know love exists somewhere

we just gotta find it

 

copyright 2011 Marwan Fateen

One thought on “Lookin’ For Love”

Leave a comment